Howard Brown . Immortality . Harvard Theological Review . 1915

Standard
Howard Brown . Immortality . Harvard Theological Review . 1915

While I was looking through the various postcards in my Wicks collection this morning, I found a few written to my Grandmother, Ruth as a young woman to Hotel Royal, Beacon Street in Boston and South Framingham, Massachusetts in care of her Uncle, Reverend Howard N Brown of King’s Chapel.

I wondered if she might be there to attend an event, lecture or Unitarian Service.

I discovered that Howard N. Brown having been a Minister of King’s Chapel for 26 years has volumes of work that have been documented and saved, which can be purchased on Amazon, Cambridge Journals/Harvard Theological Review or borrowed from libraries through WorldCat.org. …. there are probably other sources as well. Howard Brown’s collections of sermons can be found in a book called “Freedom & Truth and other Sermons in King’s Chapel”, H.N.B author, some of the sermons written by Brown include: The Drama of Life, The Divine Gentleness, Individualism & Collectivism and The Unitarian Protest. At some point, definitely worth checking out …. love the titles & they have obviously withstood the test of time.

Some others that sound interesting that I’ve found on Worldcat,org include: A prison – Sunday Sermon, The Heroic Element of Human Life, Vicarious Suffering, Nature & Spirit and The Unitarian Protest.

What an interesting life my Grandmother must have had, life with a gifted, caring & prolific Architect father, and an equally gifted spiritual visionary in her Uncle Howard Brown.

Here is an excerpt from one of his sermons “Immortality” 1915, (so very Unitarian):

Research Article

Immortality

Howard N. Brown

I wish to begin what I have to say on this theme by frank acknowledgment that the idea of a future life often seems to me, as I suspect it has seemed to many reflective minds, all but unbelievable. It may be true, for all that, as many unbelievable things have turned out to be true. Indeed my present purpose is to argue as best I can that it is true. But I have to start with the recognition of a certain natural repugnance toward it, on the part of minds accustomed to look at things in the cold light of reason and common sense.

Howard N. Brown (1915). Immortality. Harvard Theological Review, 8, pp 45-61. doi:10.1017/S0017816000008312.

About Stories, Old & New

My background is in Public Relations with a B.S. from Syracuse University. I would like to publish "Rabbitwild - A Shelter in the Wilderness", written by my Great Grandfather, William S. Wicks, a gifted early American Architect and Naturalist. Wicks, a member of the first group to purchase 100,000 acres of Adirondack Wilderness with the idea that it should remain a "forever wild" preserve, in fact designed and built "Rabbitwild" within the Adirondack League Club. And so, this blog isn't about me at all, but about remembering Wicks, his legacy, love and loyalty to natural design. By happenstance, he created the same appreciation in me for all that is beautiful, by nature.

Leave a Reply

