My Mother Kitty . 1970’s . Barneveld

Standard

kitty

This is my mother. Before the marriages, Kitty McCartney, she is about 55 years old in this picture. This photo was taken at the Wicks designed Cottage in Barneveld on the day of brother one’s marriage.  They were married at the Unitarian Church in town with a reception at the cottage, outdoors and quite lovely.

The Barneveld property no longer belonged to her, the implications as yet, unknown. My father was not invited to the wedding and it was just as well. Kitty’s first husband and his family (half brothers and sisters to my brother) were at the wedding which caused an undercurrent of tension, without any gaudy displays …. of course. Although as I recall my mother had a few chosen words that were perfectly timed and delivered with an edgy wit and intelligent charm, as always.

My brother’s wife is sweet, honest and darling. My brother although incorrigible and extremely likable has always had chauvinistic tendencies which is a sticky point, at least for me.

As my mother aged and visited Barneveld, the Grandchildren were not exactly happy when she showed up … which was too bad. They had a beautiful life and may not have fully understood that without her, the idyllic life they knew so well would have been quite different.

When my mother was growing up, this is where she lived and played. What lucky Grandchildren to have had the same experience.

the lodge

See that small piece of land in the forefront? It is tall with pines now, planted about 80 years ago by my Grandmother, mother and her two brothers, Sid & Skip. It is also a part of five acres that does not belong to my brother only – but to 3 of us – brother one, brother two and to me.

It was my mother’s intention to build a summer cottage here overlooking the pond when she retired. It’s in the blood these ideas, aren’t they? That was not to be, unfortunately. Since my mother died,  the property has not been passed on as it should have been. Isn’t that sad?

I have threatened my brother that I will become a squatter on my own land and park a retro trailer on it, which sets his latent arrogant tendencies on fire!  But it would be nice to set up a little camp, have a fire and fish in the pond …. just like my Great grandfather, grandmother and mother did, on this very spot.  Remembering my mother Kitty and her glorious spirit .

(All rights reserved, duplication of content is forbidden without consent of author, owner.)

About Stories, Old & New

My background is in Public Relations with a B.S. from Syracuse University. I would like to publish "Rabbitwild - A Shelter in the Wilderness", written by my Great Grandfather, William S. Wicks, a gifted early American Architect and Naturalist. Wicks, a member of the first group to purchase 100,000 acres of Adirondack Wilderness with the idea that it should remain a "forever wild" preserve, in fact designed and built "Rabbitwild" within the Adirondack League Club. And so, this blog isn't about me at all, but about remembering Wicks, his legacy, love and loyalty to natural design. By happenstance, he created the same appreciation in me for all that is beautiful, by nature.

Leave a Reply

