Source: Town of Webb Historical Association:
On April 14, 1913, a massive fire destroyed the Adirondack League Club’s Mountain Lodge, the ice house, laundry and storehouse at Little Moose Lake. Local firemen were able to save the Club’s boathouse and several adjacent cottages. The Directors met two days later in New York City and a decision was made to have Augustus D. Shepard design the new clubhouse, known today as the Little Moose Summer House.
Mountain Lodge – Green & Wicks
Sketch from the Syracuse Sunday Herald, “Adirondack League Club,” January 8, 1893, p. 2.
Shepard’s Adirondack Architectural Style: An Adirondack Camps National Historical Landmarks Theme Study was submitted to the National Register of Historic Places in March of 2000, later updated in 2007. The study was prepared by Historic Preservation Consultant Wesley Haynes and National Historic Landmarks Program Historian James Jacos. Central to the theme study was the argument that the wilderness camps in the Adirondacks “represented the first and fullest application of a rustic aesthetic in American buildings.” “They appealed to some of the country’s most prominent and wealthy families, who were attracted to the idea of traveling to the mountains to experience nature and outdoor activities in extremely private yet luxurious surroundings.”
This document credits architect William S. Wicks, an Adirondack League Club member and designer of the 1892-1893 clubhouse at Little Moose Lake, as the earliest voice on the subject. Author of Log Cabins: How to Build and Furnish Them (1889), Wicks emphasized the importance of selecting a site with commanding views while cutting as few trees as were necessary for the construction of camps. In Wicks’ words, “Study it as you would a painting.”
Remembering Wicks …